Skip to content ↓
The Warriner School

Pastoral Care

We are very proud of the pastoral care offered to our students.  We believe that children will thrive academically if they are happy and secure individuals.  Whilst we cannot guarantee that all children will be happy for all the time that they are at school we do promise that we will work with parents/carers to do the best for their child and respond to all concerns raised.

"I am so impressed with the way staff, and in particular
tutors, relate to students." 

Parent of Year 7/Year 11 students

The Tutor System

Tutors are the focal point for all pastoral care; a dedicated tutorial session ensures a settled start to every school day. This point of regular contact is supported by the school house system which provides numerous opportunities for vertical integration throughout our community. We believe it is really important that parents/carers and staff work together to support each child. The first point of contact is usually your child’s tutor. The most common way of getting in touch is by email. Alternatively you may leave a voicemail for the tutor via the main school switchboard. 

Tutor time provides an opportunity to forge friendship groups, complete house challenges and for students to receive key school messages through the bulletin. Alongside registration, tutors complete a uniform check each morning and inform parents/careers of any issues that arise. Progress and attainment is monitored with tutors after each reporting cycle through extended tutor time sessions. Students set personal goals based on report data, which help continue to move them forward.

In addition, all students follow a detailed tutorial programme specific to their year group, which encompasses weekly assemblies and supports the PSHE curriculum. Tutor sessions aim to provide stimulating and thought provoking activities relevant and appropriate to your child’s stage of development. Students in Years 7-10 complete a series of accredited tasks and activities through the PiXL Edge framework that develop students' attitudes, attributes and skills essential for employability and life. Students in Years 10-13 use iStudy principles to support activities in tutor time specifically around exam readiness.

Tutor Teams 2021-2022

 Please click on the tutor name to email 

Year 7

Head of Year: Miss C Connell

Tutor Group Tutor
7-DTU Mrs A Edwards
7-JJC Mr J Jackson
7-LWA Mr L Wallington
7-AGA Miss P Clarke
7-JTA Mrs J Taken
7-RME Mr R Meadows
7-EPE Miss E Pearce
7-CMO Ms C McConnell
7-ICL Mr I Lee
7-PTR Mr P Traore

Year 8

Head of Year: Mr J Knowles

Tutor Group Tutor
8-AWL Miss C Ellul
8-EFO Mrs E Fovargue
8-RLE Mr R Lewis
8-KES Mr K Smith
8-KSC Miss K Schroeder
8-SDI Mr S Dickson
8-PJA Mr P Jacobs
8-DFA Mr D Farmer
8-ETH Miss E Thompson
8-LWE Mrs L Webb

Year 9

Head of Year: Miss A Maggs

Tutor Group Tutor
9-KTO Miss K Toth
9-JCO Mr J Collins
9-CSA Miss C Sands
9-BRI Mr B Richards
9-CHO Mr C Hoad
9-JLW Ms J Lewis (MFL)
9-PGO Miss P Gomm
9-JOL Miss J Lewis (Science)
9-NED Miss N Edmunds and Mr P Hogben
9-JCH Mr J Chilvers

Year 10

Head of Year: Mr L Evans

Tutor Group Tutor
10-SEG Mrs S Glaze
10-TST Mr T Steer
10-APR Mr A Procter
10-CLE Miss C Lester
10-JGO Mrs J Goodall
10-MOG Mr M Ogi
10-LDR Miss L Drysdale
10-JLA Mr J Lambert
10-HMA Miss H Maclachlan

Year 11

Head of Year: Mr M Rafferty

Tutor Group Tutor
11-SNE Mrs S Newman
11-SBR Ms S Brown
11-LJR Mr L Rogers
11-HWI Miss H Williams
11-JTR Mr J Trotman
11-AMR Mr A Morris
11-MHI Mrs M Hickerton
11-SYO Mrs S Young
11-ABL Ms A Blythe

Years 12 and 13

Head of Sixth Form: Mr M Smith
Deputy Head of Sixth Form: Mrs R Campbell

Tutor Group Tutor
12-JMI Dr J Mileham
12-CJA Mrs C James
12-SCU Mr S Cullen
12-MJO Miss M Johansson
13-EKO Miss E Korniewski
13-GTO Mr G Toor
13-GDA Dr G Dawber
13-JHE Miss J Hemmings